Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here People

Professor Anne Marie Healy

Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology

 Prof. Anne Marie Healy B.Sc. (Pharm.), Ph.D., M.P.S.I, F.T.C.D.
 Phone: +353-1-896-1444
 Location: Panoz Institute, Trinity College, Dublin 2, Ireland.




Anne Marie Healy is a Professor in Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology in the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Trinity College Dublin (TCD) and is currently Head of School. She has a B.Sc. in Pharmacy and a Ph.D. in Pharmaceutics, both from the University of Dublin. She joined the School of Pharmacy, TCD in 1992 as a Lecturer in Pharmaceutics. In 2010 she was elected Fellow of Trinity College.

Professor Healy has over 70 peer reviewed publications; she has given over 100 presentations at national and international conferences, graduated 15 PhD students and mentored 15 postdoctoral researchers. Her research interests include pharmaceutical material science, preformulation and formulation of pharmaceuticals, amorphous solids, co-crystals, formulating poorly soluble drugs, pharmaceutical processing, pulmonary drug delivery and formulation stability.

She is currently Co-Principal Investigator of the Synthesis and Solid State Pharmaceutical Centre (SSPC: and a Funded Investigator in the Advanced Materials and Bioengineering Research Centre (AMBER: She was awarded a Special Visiting Research Fellowship by CNPq (Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico, Brazil) in 2014 to further her collaborative research with the Faculty of Pharmacy of the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. This research focuses on single and combination dosage forms and on the re-formulation of “old” drugs to improve treatment by either the pulmonary or oral route.


Science Foundation Ireland, Enterprise Ireland, Irish Research Council, CNPq (Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico, Brazil), numerous companies including: IVAX Pharmaceuticals, Merrion Pharmaceuticals, Velox GmbH, Amebis, Solvotrin Therapeutics, Pfizer, GSK, Merck, Eli Lilly, Janssen, Roche, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Alkermes, UCB Pharma, Abbvie, Clarochem, APC Ltd., Innopharma Labs, Glantreo, Dynochem, Eirgen, Novartis, Allergan, Genzyme, Biomarin, FMC.