Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here

Provost’s Teaching Awards 2014-2015

Recipients of the 2015 Provost’s Teaching Awards Trinity College Dublin were announced on 10th June 2015 at a ceremony in the Provost's House. Huge congratulations to all the winners on receiving these prestigious awards but particularly the two academic staff members from our School - Asst. Prof. Sheila Ryder and Assoc. Prof. Cicely Roche!

Ms Sheila Ryder, School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences
"Outstanding, hardworking, thorough, wonderful, helpful, all rounded lecturer who really has the best interests of the students at the focus of her teaching."
Student nomination

Ms Cicely Roche, School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences (Early Career Award)
"I regard Cicely as a role model for Excellence in Teaching & Learning, and I'm confident that my own approach is richer by virtue of Cicely's example and influence."
Peer Nomination

From Left to Right: Dr Ciaran Simms, Dr Ciaran O’Neill, Ms Sheila Ryder, Provost Dr Patrick Prendergast, Ms Cicely Roche, Mr David Kenny & Dr Daniel Geary

The Provost’s Teaching Award Scheme is designed to recognise and reward those who have made an outstanding contribution in the pursuit of teaching excellence. The prestige of the award reflects the value that Trinity places on promoting teaching as a scholarly activity and the importance placed on enriching the learning opportunities of its students. The scope of the initiative is broad, covering all aspects of teaching, learning and assessment, and seeks to:

  • Provide recognition for outstanding teaching
  • Share best practice across College and encourage teaching staff to consider other approaches to course design, delivery and assessment
  • Reaffirm that curriculum development, teaching, learning, assessment and evaluation, are important activities in College requiring high level expertise
  • Encourage teaching staff to reflect critically on their teaching practice

The Provost’s Teaching Award Scheme is a competitive process, and up to five awards will be made in 2014-15. Each award is valued at 1,500 and will be paid to the winner’s departmental account. At least one will be an Early Career Award for nominees with not more than five years full-time third-level teaching experience at the time of nomination (or equivalent as determined by the committee). A Lifetime Achievement Award may be awarded at the discretion of panel members if an applicant meets the existing criteria and additionally demonstrates in their application‘evidence of sustained commitment to teaching excellence and supporting learning and it is clear that the scholarship of the nominee has been inspirational and/or influential among academic colleagues within or beyond the institution.’