Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links

Our research

The School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Trinity College Dublin, aims to improve the lives of people through insights and discoveries that relate to medications and health.

To excel in the discovery and development of pharmaceutical agents and processes and in the promotion of pharmaceutical healthcare;
Advancing knowledge, health and economic benefit through excellence in our research.

Our research vision is an open innovation approach to engaging with the community, through supporting effective engagement with public, private and social enterprise and stimulating knowledge transfer for socio-economic development.

The School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences research laboratories at Trinity College Dublin are located in the Panoz Institute ( and in the Trinity Biomedical Sciences Institute (TBSI;

The School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Staff include Pharmacists, Clinicians/MDs, Pharmaceutical/Medicinal Chemists, Pharmacologists, Pharmacognocists, Biotechnologists, Pharmaceutical Technologists, Pharmacy Practitioners offering:

  • a multi-disciplinary approach to basic and translational research
  • substantial critical mass of internationally-trained researchers bringing experience from the clinic, academia and industry, with
  • a proven track record of successfully collaborating with small indigenous companies, SMEs and big Pharma

The School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences offers a range of postgraduate courses of relevance to industry including the MSc/Diploma in Manufacturing Technology (“QP” course). To ensure seamless translation of research between our School and collaborating industry, and to support research synergism, we are very enthusiastic about Visiting Researcher placements (School/Industry & vice versa), with durations as relevant for the research.

Helen Sheridan

Director of Research: Associate Professor Helen Sheridan

For general enquiries:
Telephone: +353-1-896 2822



Last updated 15 November 2016 by School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences (Email).